Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the reasons and solutions of this?

In many Nations nowadays, a lot of children are obese. One of the reasons for this development is the high level of junk food consumption in existence these days. Another reason is the lack of physical activities that could aid the burning out of calories in the bodies of these youngsters. To curb these issues, parents need to keep watch on the type of meals that their offspring are eating. Another way to fix this issue is by encouraging kids to engage in physical exercises. The liberty of children these days is quite enormous. A kid typically informs their parents of their meal preferences and to a large extent, their choices are usually unhealthy. Most times, parents tend to look the other way and make meals in line with the children's requests rather than educating their wards about a balanced diet and providing them with a portion of healthy food. For example, in Australia reports show that 70% of childhood obesity is caused by kids ' food choices. To resolve this, parents should be more involved in the meal consumption of their children. They can do this by creating a timetable bordering around a balanced diet. Since the accessibility to the internet is now feasible for everyone, kids are now more engaged with electronic exercises like video games, watching cartoons, social media, etc. This keeps children indoors and away from doing cardiovascular activities that could otherwise help them with stretching their muscles and burning calories that they might have accumulated from junk food intake. For example, South Africa shows that the level of physical activities that children engage in has reduced drastically from 65% to 21% since the invention of easy accessibility to the internet. It is imperative that parents limit the screen time of their offspring and encourage them to involve themselves in physical activities. To conclude, the problem of obesity in children is caused mostly by parents who have the behaviour of satisfying the wants of their children at all times, rather than focusing on what they need for healthy living. Another trigger for this issue is the lakadestical approach towards physical exercises that children ought to go through. The preferred solutions are for the parents to focus on ensuring that their kids get a balanced diet daily, and help them to cut down on unhealthy meals. Also, parents would need to give their youngsters a push towards exercise. This can be achieved by scheduling family exercise time or by cutting down on the time the children spend with electronic devices.