Doing an enjoyable activity with a child is better for their overall skills development and creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree?

Spending quality time with their children is recommended by many family health professionals. It is widely believed that engaging in certain activities with a child will advance their skills and creative nature more than reading. In this essay, I will discuss the changes that can be resulted from spending a great deal of time with their kids and reading books or magazines. Firstly, a big fraction of a child’s life is spent around their family where they learn how to walk, talk and eat. Furthermore, most details act as visual exposure to a child so that their brains will comprehend and store these as long-term memories. For instance, when a child is constantly seeing how their elder siblings are dancing or singing, they will try to imitate them thus, developing their creative skills in a significant way. So, the children gravitate towards learning from their surrounding as it is a pleasurable experience for them. On the other hand, reading books improves their cognitive abilities which will be beneficial in their future. Instilling the manner of reading books should be initiated from early childhood so that they are well-equipped to face the strenuous school curriculum. For example, it is proven that children with a background history of reading books and magazines since their childhood performed better in linguistics and excelled in their academics as well as extra-curricular performances. In conclusion, the amount of time spent with kids is directly proportional to their progression in various sectors such as skills, creativity and intel. However, reading will also act as a positive endorsement to a kid's life as it expands their visual imagination thereby increasing creativity in a similar way.