As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With globalization, the number of automobiles on the road is continuously rising thus, allocating more funds towards road system development has become a crucial topic in discussion. Some people believe that it is the government ’s responsibility but others believe that the vehicle drivers should cover the costs. In this essay, I will discuss both notions and elaborate on why allowing funds by the government is more important. On one hand, it is the sole responsibility of a government to provide adequate facilities to their citizens as they pay a fraction of their income as tax. For instance, in Sweden, 14% of the annual income of an individual is collected by the state rulers but in return, they receive benefits such as a well-developed free public transport system and access to highways and roads. This has encouraged the communities to actively pay their share as tax to the government so in return they commute via progressively advancing transportation systems. On the other hand, the majority of drivers are at fault for damaging traffic lights, road signs and street lamps because of their reckless driving habits. For example, when a drunk driver hits a structure located on a highway, they should be held accountable for the damage they caused because repairing or maintenance of that structure may be costly. If they were fined according to the degree of the damage they caused, they will be more focused on roads thus causing fewer accidents and making road maintenance less expensive. In conclusion, maintenance, repair and new development of roads take a massive amount of money. While some argue that the costs should be covered by the drivers, in my opinion, I think that most of the responsibility of the infrastructure development around roads should be taken over by the government authority as they are in charge of the taxpayer's money.