These days consumers are faced with an increasing amount of advertising from various companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertising? What measures should be taken to protect them?

Advertising is one of the greatest factors contributing to a company's profit. With the development and modernisation, advertising has become a headache for customers these days from various companies. Customers are affected to a greater extent which will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs along with measures to protect them. To begin with, advertising has a scientific theory to back it when comes to manipulating human minds. In simple words, human minds are greatly attracted to adverts no matter where they are displayed, whether it be movies, advertisements on television, newspapers, boardings, and so on, they all definitely increase their selling of products. For instance, in today's time of the internet and smartphones, most business is boosted by ads on social media. Furthermore, there are a lot of algorithms and software developed to display what people need or search for and suggest products making it more compelling for people to buy the products displayed in advertisements. However, there are a few measures which can't be overlooked. Firstly, most businesses create ads on the basis of data gathered from the customer's mobile phones, which shall be protected. In other words, privacy features shall be added to smart gadgets as they collect a lot of things from a person's life and suggests ads accordingly. Secondly, advertisements must pass through proper tests that check if it is made under proper rules and regulations. To exemplify, many advertisements issue statements which may or may not be true, but people don't know about the basis of that thing and they might be misguided which should be tackled through screening procedures for every advertisement. To conclude, advertisements definitely influence human minds which is not very good hence proper measures regarding privacy and legitimacy of ads should be checked to protect people from getting fooled.