The internet has a bigger impact on people’s lives because it is more popular than television. Do you agree or disagree?

Internet and television are two of the most relevant media these days, but which one affects more the way we live? Throughout the years the net became more and more popular, due to the spread of devices that make it quite easy to look for info online, meanwhile, tv got quite unpopular, cause of its rigid schedule. In my opinion, in the future online platforms are going to almost completely replace television as an information source and also as a way to spend spare time. First, I believe it is important to point out how new generations, myself included, have a different way of using their free time, in fact, nowadays it is preferred to be able to access information and entertainment at every moment during the day and not only at specific hours. Moreover, a century ago it was not possible to look for news on your own this easily and you had to rely on television to know what was happening around the world, on the contrary, now you can see multiple sources of information on your smartphone and even confront them to discover if what one source is saying is actually true. Additionally, with the advent of online streaming services, such as Netflix, you can have a tremendous catalogue of films and series from which you can choose what you want whenever you want. Thanks to this innovation you no longer are forced to see what channels are airing at that moment. In conclusion, I think even tv channels noticed this shift in preferences and consequentially are trying to fix this issue by implementing online services somehow becoming a mix of the two media.