Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

Nowadays obesity has become a common problem for people of any age and class, even those who are not obese are under the impression of being overweight. Obesity does not only affect physical health but it definitely takes up a toll on a person’s mind. Although, there are many reasons for being overweight, the major cause is binge eating. Binge eating is a disorder, which many people can’t even realize. It can be triggered by stress, due to negative feelings regarding anything, availability of food or simply because of boredom. To illustrate that, according to a survey, carried out by the national health authority of Pakistan on 100 overweight volunteers, almost 45% were fat because of binge eating. The other factors which were highlighted in the report were lack of exercise, unhealthy lifestyle and very little or no walking at all. This is true, many people are so busy that they hardly get any time for exercise whereas the availability of affordable cars has transformed the man into some lazy creature. On the other hand, people who generally avoid using cars can walk several kilometres without being tired. Our generation can’t compete with people from older times because they are not used to walking. However, obesity is curable. It can be overcome by making some changes in lifestyle, like, a person should introduce walking in his routine life. Brisk walking is good for health and weight. It keeps the risk of a heart attack at bay. Intake of junk food should be minimized as the excess carbohydrates are the main culprits in making a person unhealthy. In a nutshell, one should eat and live healthily because it has an effect on the health and mind of a person.