Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, most children are busy playing video games on their smart devices. This essay focuses on the reasons for this particular behaviour and how it affects the child's both mental and physical condition in a negative way. The first reason that came to mind, is that the new technology is not only accessible but also easy to understand and work with. So comparing working or studying with playing video games or surfing the net, it is clear that there is no need for concentration or hard work when you are using technology. In other words, everyone enjoys working with their smartphones because it does not take a lot of energy, especially when we are talking about children. Furthermore, in comparison to playing a sport or playing an Xbox game, the Xbox game is definitely much more interesting than engaging in physical activity. Personally, I believe that these new devices have had a bad influence on our children due to the following reasons. Firstly, it is a time-consuming activity, for instance, people do not notice the passing of minutes when they are surfing the net, so basically it is a waste of time. Secondly, in that case, they will not go around hanging out with their friends as they used to before, so they will become anti-social teenagers in the future. In other words, they will be lacking social skills. Moreover, not only it harms their mental health, as mentioned earlier, it is harmful to their body, for instance, some experts claim that staring at the smart device's screen for long hours is damaging to the eyes. In addition, it may result in insomnia. Lastly, if it has a negative impact on children, it means that it is bad for society because in that,case the future society will fail due to its irresponsible, lazy and unhealthy citizens. In conclusion, most children spend hours on their smartphones due to several reasons. I am totally convinced that this is a negative development so the amount of time they use their phones should be limited by parents or guardians.