Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic: There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In present times, an extensive variety of music exists in the world such as jazz and classical. It can be useful in numerous ways such as meditation, therapy and hobby. Besides, it can calm someone down as well as energise someone. On the one hand, local music is essential as it represents our culture and traditions. Every region has its own form of music that is created using the local instruments available. Furthermore, we should preserve our culture as well as strive hard to keep it alive. For example, in India classical music uses instruments such as veena and sitar whereas in the western parts violin is used. There are also some dance forms that are performed on local folk songs which should also be taught to new generations. I believe, on the other hand, international music that is played in other parts of the globe is also important as it is representation of their ways of life. It helps us to stay connected with people and understand their traditions. Also, we must always be ready to learn and accept new things. There is nothing wrong if we feel relaxed and peaceful by listening to international music. For instance, kids living in India are learning how to play jazz music and are really good at it. It also keeps them happy and motivated. To conclude, all forms of music are melodious in their own way. It has the power to unite people. We must preserve our regional heritage as well as learn the newly invented forms.