Formal examination are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Student assessment is part of an education system for students who enter formal school. However, there is an argument that the best way of checking the student's competency is through a formal test. I disagree with this view since formal tests only examine the memory of students, otherwise, students should be evaluated continuously to get better judgment about their understanding of given courses. In terms of the formal tests at school, students usually study harder when the test date will be started soon. As a, result they try to learn and memorise all of the material in a short time before the assessment. Whereas, refers to many scientists who are concerned about human memory, they said that remembering material in a short time will not make it stay longer in our memory. In other words, it is just merely temporary and will disappear after the test completely. On the other hand, the main purpose of school is to help students understand the course and be able to implement it in the reality. Thus, continuous examination is required and will in results a beneficial impact on student ’s future life. I do extremely agree with this concept as schools can test students such as through their work and project completion. It will be more reflective than a formal test in the paper which only assess their recall ability. In the work and project test, a teacher can analyse how far the student understands the lecture and how properly they think about getting a strategy for their work or project. To conclude, the way schools assess students can be different, but when it comes to the option that would be the best, it should be through continuous examination where teachers can test the student's ability directly in implementation.