Many people think that zoos, which keep wild animals in a man-made environment should no longer exist in the 21st century.To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

There is a popular opinion that animals should not be kept in zoos in this modern era. I strongly believe that animals should live in their natural habitats and caging them in zoos is an act of cruelty.  On the one hand, there are many benefits to letting animals live in their natural environment. This means that animals will not be isolated from their clans. When animals live in their natural landscape, it creates perfect conditions for hunting and reproduction. Therefore, if people want to witness the normal life of animals, they should visit their natural world such as going on a safari. This will not only teach valuable lessons to people but also educate them to protect these creatures. On the other hand, animals kept in zoos are not treated in ideal conditions. Visitors especially children may feed them food which is not suitable for these animals which can cause serious health problems to them. On top of that, it is impossible for man to create an ideal environment as their natural habitat because temperate and soil conditions may not be appropriate for their sustenance. Taking away from their habitat not only takes away their freedom but also interferes with their routine behaviours. There is much evidence shown in wildlife documentaries that captivated animals go through depression and often suffer from illnesses, and people cannot experience the natural behaviours of these animals in human captivity. In conclusion, despite the fact that there is a popular opinion that captivating animals in zoos are not acceptable in this contemporary time, around the world there are many zoos still exist today. I strongly advocate that animals should not be imprisoned for human needs, and there are many ways for a man to experience wildlife.