More and more families have computers in their homes. What advantages and disadvantages do home computers have for children? Should parents restrict the amount of time their children spend using the computer?

Nowadays, the computer is becoming an indispensable part of the individual household. The debate on whether computers are either disadvantageous or advantageous has been intense. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and shed light on the role of parents in regulating their children's screen time. The greatest benefit of children interacting with computers is that there are numerous resources for them to access and develop their interests. Internet endows opportunities for children to discover and decide whichever subject they find to be interesting. For example, a sport-loving kid who could only play after-school matches with his classmate in the past is now able to connect with the online community. Compared to the number of activities available in school, computers have given them a sense of discovery which is crucial for the development of a hobby. Nevertheless, information in the digital space is often a mixture of positives and negatives. While the internet can be beneficial for children to learn skills and cultivate hobbies, they are also overtly exposed to the danger of misinformation. For instance, children who would read hateful speech online will not be able to recognize the wrongness due to their lack of social experience. This can bring detriments to individual adulthood or even society. To that end, supervision provided by parents has become increasingly significant as children need more support to filter misinformation. To provide a solution, parents can restrict the time for their children to access computers on a daily basis so that they will have more time to digest the information. To sum up, despite the accessibility and convenience of the internet that expands children's passion, It remains dangerous for individuals at a young age to explore. Therefore, parents need to constantly monitor children's relationship with computers and give them the necessary support.