As compared to the past, children these days spend more of their leisure time indoors with computers and TV and less time outdoors. Describe some of the problems this lack of outdoor leisure time can cause and suggest at least one possible solution.

Nowadays, kids are often interested in spending their time on computers, TV and video games. This issue is more serious than it sounds as there are many problems linked to this habit. This essay will list out various problems that occur due to lack of outdoor time as well as some possible solutions to reverse this trend. To begin with, spending time indoors is good for kids but it is equally important for them to play outdoors. However, there are various problems attached to this habit. To elaborate, children are more likely to get addicted to screens which are harmful to their eyes. Also, staying at home invites many health-related problems like obesity at a very young age. For example, according to a survey, 90% of children who avoid spending outdoor leisure time are likely to suffer from obesity and stress at a very young age. Also, there are some kids who lack vitamins and nutrients due to their limited contact with the environment. Furthermore, there are many solutions to avoid this problem. First of all, parents should encourage their children to play outdoor sports or should introduce them to outdoor activities like swimming, horse riding and rafting. Apart from that, guardians should keep their kids away from technologies like smartphones and tablets. For example, there are many children in my area who are unaware of smartphone technology. Thus, they are physically very active and fit. Also, some of them are selected for a state-level cricket championship due to their fitness level. In conclusion, spending outdoor leisure time is crucial for children as it is a basic human need. Not being physically active causes many problems like obesity and high blood pressure. However, parents should encourage their children to play sports. This way, they are likely to get attracted to outdoor activities.