Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In spite of its length, it has been a controversial and debatable topic for quite some time. Which approach is best for fixing this issue is a source of contention. There are those who think throwing them behind the bars for years could be effective, in spite of the fact that there are some who contemplate another alternative instead. Based on my view, we have a huge range of options to pick from instead of jail. The elaboration will be gauged in the impending essay. To begin with, there are some who think that the individual who is responsible for committing a crime must spend a significant amount of time behind the bars for a long time in order to decrease the rate of the crime. In other words, there is a sort of reason behind this idea. First and foremost, the logic which is behind this attitude is that if we keep the criminals in jail, the rate of committing crimes will fall simultaneously. Secondly, throughout the criminals pass their imprisonment, some instructors can instruct them in order to change them and help them modify their behaviour. On the other hand, the economic development policy could be implemented with the aim of providing another alternative. Because some unambiguous evidence affirms that poverty is forcing them to commit crimes. There is no selective decision-making process that allows them to choose. In conclusion, both views are discussed in detail, and the reason why some people see putting the criminal in jail for the long term could be effective as well as an economical option is discussed. In my view, it would be preferable to look for a solution in the economic sphere, where there is more capacity for planning and fewer difficulties, and where there is also the absolute certainty of a fall in the crime rate in particular value, offered by an economic capacity.