Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that spoken communication may have an edge over1 its written counterpart. From my perspective, both spoken and written forms are important in equal measure2, and therefore I completely disagree with the statement. Spoken language, on the one hand, facilitates3 our daily communication. Virtually all social activities that human beings engage in such as making purchases4, exchanging information or chatting with friends entail5 people uttering6 words to one another, and it is not an overstatement7 to say lack of oral communication may render us unable to carry out any essential tasks in life. Additionally, when combined with body language, facial expressions8, and eye contact, oral communication exhibits9 strong emotional messages10. Whilst political figures make persuasive, well-articulated11 speeches as an effective tool of persuasion and manipulation, women make full use of their sweet, melodious12 voices to talk their beloved ones into13 buying things they want to. Written language, on the other hand, appears to be relegated14 and ignored. This is unfortunate because written communication has advantages that would make it a superior choice in some situations over oral communication. From a legal perspective15, written language, in the form of legal documents, is instrumental insafeguarding16 the rights of the people. Most contracts are carefully drawn up17 in written forms and require signatures, and therefore they are solid and hard to be breached18. In contrast, so-called ‘agreements’ or ‘promises’ in oral forms, in most cases, are invalid. Moreover, written language is a very efficient representation of complex notions, emotional expressions, and philosophies. Great minds store their ideas in books and novels, and those books have been instrumental in spreading their ideas to a much wider range of audiences. We can see written language as a way of indirectly conversing19 with not only one, but hundreds, thousands, or even millions of people. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that both spoken and written communication are equally important in our society. Whereas spoken language enables us to do everyday tasks and effectively show our emotions, written language plays a pivotal role20 in legal matters and allows for great ideas to be spread to a lot of people.