An increasing number of people are now using dating sites to meet their second halves. Do you think that this tendency helps people to socialize or does more harm than good? Give your opinion. Provide relevant examples if necessary

The number of people who use dating websites or apps to find a partner is growing these days. Although its usage increases the opportunity for someone to be more social, I firmly believe that its baneful consequences do not outweigh its benefits. In the first instance, meeting other people on these types of social websites gives a sense of socialisation. This is because people feel that they have a plethora number of friends who care for them, which increases their self-esteem and happiness. This happens when a person scrolls down on their phone´s screen and sees that they have so much positive feedback from others, for example. The argument goes that if it was not due to these apps, people would not have so many friends to tell them that they are beautiful, decreasing this way their sense of self-worth and happiness. On the other hand, it is important to take into consideration that what is on the other side of the screen is not always true. Owing to the fact that individuals can not be seen through the mobile phone, people post the best-looking pictures and use the words they like to convince others to believe and fall in love. This can be dangerous not only due to the pain that the person would go through, but also because can lead to cybercrimes. A prime illustration of this is what happened with many women who trusted the Tinder hunter, and by the end they realised he was phishing by stealing from their pecuniary resources. In conclusion, although the benefits of the feeling of having many friends and being wished for, I am a vehement supporter that the risks of being forged and the online crimes related to this new reality far outweigh the former positives.