Some people believe that it is better to live and work in a vertical city with multiple tall buildings, as compared to a horizontal city with fewer tall buildings. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate over which type of city is the best for living and working, with some saying that metropolises with high constructions are better and others arguing that ordinary cities without tall skyscrapers are more optimal for living. In my opinion, while standard flats and houses have some benefits, tall buildings can offer more space and benefit the economy as a whole. On the one hand, horizontal cities can offer a wide range of benefits ranging from cultural preservation to less pollution. Since the buildings and towers will be shorter, there will be less air, noise and light pollution. For instance, in countries such as Oman and Saudi Arabia politicians are trying to preserve their cultural values and traditions by keeping their historical monuments, while their neighbours are building and renovating cities. Thus, it may be vital for some countries and urban centres to keep all buildings untouched, in order to prevent climatic change and keep them unique. On the other hand, vertical constructions can have a more practical approach, as they can offer more space and can greatly benefit the economy of the country. Millions of tourists are attracted to metropolises because of skyscrapers and their features this. For example, the UAE is one of the most visited countries with over 30 million tourists on an annual basis, with artificial land for taller buildings, which provides to stable and strong source of income for the economy as a result. In conclusion, while horizontal farms definitely have some benefits, in my opinion, vertical farms are more practical in modern frameworks of society.