Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the legal bodies should promulgate a general punishment for all severe criminals regardless of age. From my perspective, this opinion is valid to a certain extent as it demonstrates the stringency of the judicial system and averts the repetition of criminals. However, protesters of this standpoint have their rational grounds. First, young criminals are unable to have the sufficient economic ability to receive the same discipline as grown-ups. To be specific, for offences that require criminals to pay fines, juvenile criminals have an insufficient possibility of accepting this sentence, which will put financial burdens on their caretakers.Even worse, with orphaned minor delinquents, these illegal acts will become unpaid debts, which makes their lives more difficult and prevents their repentance. Second, the community labour penalties of previous generations could be too physically demanding for young criminals. To elaborate, to compensate for mistakes and learn the value of labour, prisoners are forced to engage in agricultural activities such as crop-growing, and farming. However, these jobs are labour-intensive, and so they are suitable for adults, whose physical strength has fully developed, while youths lack the muscles to do this. Despite the valid arguments detailed above, I believe that this action provides certain merits. The most pertinent treating the young and the elderly equally could discourage potential criminals from committing crimes. In particular, a significant number of juvenile delinquents show a contemptuous attitude towards the consequences of their actions as they believe that the punishments they receive are too light. However, when the said policy is effective because these disciplines become extremely severe and strict, adolescents will be more cautious when committing offences. Another justification is that underage criminals who commit serious crimes such as homicide and repetitive crimes should be treated like normal delinquents. Specifically, the apology of juvenile criminals is that they are not mature enough, but these offenders are unworthy of a second chance because they are radically aware of the mistakes of their actions. In reality, Lê Văn Luyện, an underage criminal, murdered three individuals in a family to steal gold in 2014, and a significant number of citizens were outraged that he deserved the death penalty but only received incarceration within 18 years. In conclusion, it is disputable that the disadvantages of the economy and the physical strength of adolescents are related. Nonetheless, I still strongly agree with the second argument in question because of the safety of society and the cognitive ability of children.