Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In present, some forks argue that the reason for learning a second language is for skill migrations or to travel, while others argue there are many reasons to learn another language. I believe that, there are many reasons and advantages of learning a foreign tongue. It is true that nowadays, learning a foreign language has become a rising trend as many countries are looking for skilled professionals which required language proficiency. In order for you to get a work visa from a country, it requires a proof that you are capable to communicate in their native language. For an instance, countries such as Australia, the UK, and the USA request to submit a proof of English language proficiency to candidates, which leads people to learn English. Apart from that, if you travel to another nation, you should know at least a common language or the main language of that particular country. As an example, someone from Sri Lanka travels to Portugal for short period, and they need to know either Portuguese or English to communicate with the people in Portugal. However, travelling is not the only reason for people to learn a second language. On one hand, it requires to educate the communities in developing countries. For example, Sri Lanka's main teaching language in schools and universities is Sinhalese, but many books related to medicine, engineering and computing are written in English. In order to understand these resources, students have to learn English as their second language. On the other hand, learning a second language brings benefits in terms of tourism. To illustrate that, many folks from all around the world, travel to Sri Lanka throughout the year, which leads to increase foreign remittance in the country. In order to communicate with these tourists people in the tourism industry study other languages. Also, we need to learn other languages to enjoy foreign movies, books or any other entertainment-related activities. As an example, if you can not understand dialogs in a comedy movie, you can not enjoy the movie. To conclude, learning another language other than mother language is vital in many cases as discussed. In my opinion, there are not only one but many reasons to learn a foriegn language that brings many benefits and advantages.