Some people think that hosting an international sports eventsis a good for the country while some people think it's bad. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The debate on whether it's good for a country to host an international sports event is good for a country or not. I believe that there are numerous beneficial outcomes that could come from such activities. For instance, economical growths, state of the art roads and stadium. On the other hand, those who don't agree, believe that it will bring scrutiny from bad press which will overshadow the main event and Also, redundant structures left behind after the main event. Hosting an international sporting event could be beneficial for the hosting country. Such as, economic growth this could be achieved through increased revenue from tourism and in the hotel industry as there would be an influx of people coming into the country to be part of the games,the hosting nation could use this opportunity to sell it as a tourist destination to the spectators. In addition, the nation could benefit from building the latest infrastructure such as roads and new stadiums. This facilities play an important role in allowing for easy accessibility to and from the venues for both the athletes and the spectators consequently, new stadiums built allow for different events to run smoothly without interruption. For example, during the last world cup games held in Qatar, the hosting country built numerous stadiums with the latest technology, which led to a successful event. However, hosting activities of such magnitude could also have negative outcomes such as redundant structures left behind after the sporting event such structures are left to collect dust as they are no longer in use. Also, scrutiny that comes from bad press would consequently overshadow the main event. For instance, during the 2018 world cup series held in Russia, the hosting country came under fire from the international press due to it's policies against the LGBTQ community. In conclusion, holding world renowned sports events in a country could be a good thing but at the same time proper preparations and caution should be put in mind to avoid the negative outcomes.