Many famous sport players advertise sport products. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage?

It’s hard to deny that athletes endorsing sports brands have become commercialized, and such a fact makes some suggestible people generate the viewpoint that the drawbacks of sports players outweigh the benefits. Nevertheless, this state suffers from some misconceptions and should be checked out precisely. As far as the awareness of exercise in public, the development of athletes and the image of the brand are concerned, I’m convinced that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. First of all, well-known athletes endorse sports brands that can boost people ’s awareness of fitness. Specifically, when they are shooting and posting the advertisements, they are able to encourage people, especially their aficionados, to engage in exercise actively by using their popularity. Additionally, people, especially younger generations, are more like to imitate the behaviours of their idols consciously. Thus, it’s imperative for them to advertise sports items. Furthermore, they can build up their own image by endorsing the relevant products as a majority of sports players are familiar with people because of advertisements. Admittedly, a variety of famous athletes are optimistic, vibrant, enthusiastic, open-minded, brave, and have a variety of good qualities and personalities which are admired by consumers, as well as it’s suitable for some prevalent sports brands. Taking LeBron James, a sophisticated basketball player, as an example, he has trained hard and won a lot of awards and honours, that’s why Nike has chosen him as an advertising spokesperson. However, a voice arises that lets athletes endorse brands and shoot advertisements that would commercialize sports. The main reason for believing this is that some people argue that it spends too much training time on advertising, affecting their sports skills. Ironically, It is because many sports brands want famous athletes to endorse their advertisements that athletes train and compete harder to gain higher popularity and income. In conclusion, considering these fully justified factors, I strongly maintain that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.