In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driveless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driveless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely recognized that protecting the environment should be top of the government’s agenda. However, much has been debated over how to do this. One school of thought holds that the most effective way to tackle environmental issues is to raise the cost of fuels. While acknowledging the reasons behind this thinking, I would argue increasing fuel prices is not the best method. Perhaps for many, charging higher fuel prices seems optimal as most people are responsive to price changes. What they have not taken into consideration is that, as a countermeasure, those price-sensitive consumers may simply switch to more affordable substitutes. There is no guarantee that these substitutes are more environmentally-friendly in any way. For instance, when the price of fuels surges, consumers may be tempted to purchase an electric vehicle rather than a gas-powered one. Though these vehicles are believed to carry “zero emissions” badges, this claim is not quite true. Battery-electric cars may emit no greenhouse gases from their tailpipes, but their manufacturing process is more carbon-intensive, and how to dispose of used batteries without causing damage to the environment still presents a huge challenge. In addition, there remain alternatives to raising prices which might act as better measures. One is for the government to limit the use of private means of transport and encourage that of public ones through policies. This can be seen in Singapore, where car numbers have frozen since 2018 in tandem with billions of dollars spent in planned public transport investments. With fewer cars allowed on the roads, the country has seen less pollution for fossil fuel burning engines, along with the avoidance of environmentally harmful gridlock. To summarize, while there are justifications for advocating an increase in the cost of fuels, I would contend that these reasons are short-sighted, as people might turn to substitutes that are no less environmentally harmful and there exist better measures.