Competitiveness is considered a good quality in most societies nowadays. How does it affect individuals? Do you think this is positive or negative development?

These days, it is believed by many that the ability to compete is a fruitful personal trait in most nations. While enjoying such a characteristic may negatively impact general well-being, I personally believe that it is beneficial for boosting nations' economies. Chief among the impacts of the prevalence of competition is that it may jeopardize public health. If individuals were keen on spending long hours working under strenuous working conditions as a result of a highly competitive working atmosphere, definitely would they suffer from stress-related illnesses such as diabetes, hypertension and cardiac diseases. This can be witnessed by Apple's workers who suffer from laborious circumstances at work which have resulted from the increased competitiveness at the workplace. One further effect is that teenagers would become more vulnerable to some social ills just as drug dealing, atrocities and crime resulting from the lack of parental supervision or double-income families. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that such a trait is considered to be positive for society as a whole for financial reasons. When working under competitive circumstances, this would boost the desire of employees to devote much time and effort to work which in turn would generate a dramatic hike in productivity rates among corporations. They would, therefore, generate more revenues due to improved sales figures and developed incomes. Moreover, not only would this positively impact the financial status of a country, but also citizens would be securing satisfactory living conditions since these funds would be spent on ameliorating such as better educational facilities to high-standard health institutions. In conclusion, despite the negative impact of competitiveness on individuals' health conditions, I am still convinced that it is the main way towards a better financial and economic status.