Some people think living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Living in big cities is thought to be bad for the health of the people. In my opinion, I disagree to a large extent because city life exposes one to civilization and better care of one's health through available and sophisticated healthcare services. First of all, I must say that living in the village or suburb is quite nice and peaceful as the environment is usually green and the atmosphere is fresh with less pollution. Secondarily, a lot of gardening or agricultural activities can take place with cheap meals from locally produced foodstuffs. Notwithstanding, big cities provide greater and better options of foodstuff both local and intercontinental, which are helpful for healthy living. Further more, the big city gives better options for education with better equipped schools and well motivated teachers. It is important to note that educated people tend to take better care of their health than illiterates. In addition, the healthcare services are in the big city are also more advanced and sophisticated than in the small city, suburbs or village, so the people's health are better taken care of when they fall sick than those in the villages or small cities. Undoubtedly, big cities provide various places for exercise and wellbeing, which are usually lacking in a village or suburb. These places help the city dwellers to keep fit and healthy. Lastly, the big cities provide better opportunities to earn better living and earn bigger salaries, which helps them live a healthier life and afford good and costly health services. In conclusion, big city life gives better health to the people with all the available facilities and amenities it provides to improve their wellbeing and cannot be compared with the limited options for healthy lifestyle of a small city, suburb or village.