"Prevention is better thon cure", Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree.

"Prevention is better than cure" is an old saying that implies the importance of being prepared instead of doing reactive mitigation. Although it might seem unrealistic to take action way before a situation occurs, I agree with the idea of investing more in preventive actions rather than treating the diseases after they happen. The reason behind my stance is that investing in preventive measures is rather an opportunity cost than a liability, considering how significant the research result is to the worldwide health situation. If we look back to the world situation when COVID-19 was around, imagine how many lives could be saved if the countries had already prepared for the outbreak. At that time, the virus was spreading rapidly and it took too long for researchers and doctors to study this virus, which then resulted in millions of deaths all around the world. To tackle this virus, a mitigation plan was executed by using vaccination and it was successful to reduce the rate of the infection. However, we can see that the cost that was excessively spent to treat this disease was not proportional to the number of people that could be saved by the treatment methods. By taking action way before it happened, mitigation and treatment costs could be reduced as much as possible. Besides that, there won't be another disease that affects the stability of a country's economy and social welfare. In conclusion, by considering the cost and benefit of doing preventive actions, it can be highlighted that preventive actions, such as research, vaccination, and government surveillance could reduce the cost needed to take reactive actions towards a disease. In addition to that, investing in preventive measures means that taking any possible steps is needed to determine any future risks and to get prepared for the calculated loss that might happen.