Many parents believe that children should attend extra classes after school hours while some disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is every parents dream to see their children excel in their academics, and therefore some parents resort to having their children attend classes after school hours. This seems to be a solution especially to those students who are slow learners. Secondly, this could be helpful in helping these learners revise their work. One the other hand this could be exhausting to the children, and there will be no time for other extracurricular activities. In my opinion I believe allowing time for extra classes after school hours could bring more harm than good. Firstly, having extra classes after school hours could be beneficial to those students who not gifted academically, such children struggle alot with their school work, and therefore adding two or three hours a day could go a long way in helping address the areas they are struggling with. In addition, these extra classes could help the learners to revise and review the topics taught throughout the day this is vital, as they help in retaining the knowledge gained. For instance, there are some boarding schools who allow there learners to attend classes after school hours, and this is seen especially in those in secondary schools. However, having extra hours of classes way after school could leave the children exhausted, this is because children's concentration levels tend to decline throughout the day, consequently increasing their stress levels causing anxiety, in the end cause more harm than good. Secondly, there will be no time for extracurricular activities, such as sports or social clubs. These activities allows children to relax their minds, interact with their peers, and also help them to be physically fit, social clubs help to cultivate basic skills such as communication. Educationists have stated that incorporating creative activities help students become better learners, and increase their concentration levels, therefore become better learners. In conclusion, while having extra classes after school hours could be beneficial, caution should be taken not to neglect other facet of education which are essential for the overall development of children.