Nowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

We are living in a technological world and as a result, more and more children become exposed to the computer at an early age. The reasons for this trend are probably social and economic as parents are overloaded at work and spend less time with their family. The increased amount of screen time and computer games definitely have negative effects on young minds. On one hand, the increasing speed of life has given more opportunities for people to grow professionally, travel and enjoy the achievements of modern technology, but on the other hand, people can't afford as much time with their offspring as it was possible decades ago. As a result, virtual game substitutes real-life game for the young generation. Our grandparents used to go out after school playing sports games, hanging out with friends or just walking in the parks, whereas our children rush to the PlayStations the moment they enter home. This happens due to the immersion in virtual reality which seems more attractive than real life as there are no troubles, duties, worries or sorrows of everyday routines. Such a trend can be really dangerous for the growing bodies and minds. First of all, spending long hours in front of the screen at the expense of physical activities can lead to obesity and other illnesses. Moreover, teenagers don't learn how to communicate, behave and solve problems in real life. For instance, computer game includes only a limited range of behavioural models rather than the diversity of challenges that we face every day. So the kids are just not preparing for their adulthood. To sum up, the negative impact of computer games can be reduced if parents become more aware of the hidden dangers of living in an imaginary world for their kids.