Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the present world, cars have become a necessity than a luxury. Having an international no-driving day may seem like a positive way to reduce atmospheric exploitation but it might hamper the community more than actually bring a positive change. I will discuss both sides and opine my views as to why this will not be effective in the near future. On one hand, transit machines contribute towards a major portion of atmosphere abuse. Planning an international no-driving day would have a major impact on decreasing atmosphere abuse. For instance, in developed countries like America and Canada, where every household has at least two vehicles, one day of zero driving would heavily impact air deterioration. Stopping all transit in such countries will have a great impact on improving the breathable air. On the other hand, with the help of growing technology, electric transportation means have become a reality now. These transit machines contribute nothing towards atmospheric abuse. For instance, many nations have planned to completely end the use of non-electric vehicles in the next five to ten years. Implementing an international no-driving day will have a very minute effect in the immediate future. So, spending manpower and resources on such a thing might be futile. Also, planning such a holiday will be a major headache for the official agencies, as they would have to allow all emergency services, so it does not seem feasible to achieve. Finally, celebrating an international no-driving day might look like an effective idea today, but it will become useless in the near future due to the world developing transport means that produce almost zero air pollutants. Once the majority of society has shifted towards electric or similar transportation means, the expenses of planning an international no-vehicle day would exponentially become higher than the positive effect it produces on the environment