Nowadays, a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some people think it is negative for children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertisement industries have now been aiming at children to increase their potential customers. Children are impressionable and they are easy to target as well. This worse situation has harmful impacts as children might involve in products which are not good for them. In this, the essay I will highlight the negative impacts of advertising and reasons why it should be banned. To begin with, the young generation watches television most of the time for their favourite shows, they encounter commercials for a variety of products. The graphic of ads and music accompanying them attract youth. In addition, they are designed in a particular way to catch the attention. For instance, ads related to junk food portray that if people eat ready-made food they will become stronger and healthier but the reality is the opposite. Therefore, children will start eating these kinds of food without considering their health. To counteract this situation, advertisements aimed at children should be banned otherwise they will prove harmful. The abuse, violence and vulgarity portrayed in commercials can affect mental health. Moreover, by following adverts and eating unhealthy food they will most likely become obese and suffer from cardiovascular disorders. To overcome the problem, parents should keep a check on their kids and should filter tv channels for them which are safe to watch. As well, there should be some rules and regulations for advertising agencies to follow and consider the health and mental well-being of children. In addition, the government should make policies to keep checks and balances on commercial companies to make sure the safety of the younger generation from adverse content. To conclude, advertisements aimed at children should be banned by the government because of their negative impacts as youngsters are most likely to learn abuse and violence. To overcome this, the above-mentioned strategies can be proved helpful.