Instead of asking the government to bear the cost of higher education, students should pay their own tuition fees themselves. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Higher education has become one of the most popular social issues. Some people consider it necessary for students to afford the tuition fees themselves instead of requiring the government to support. I do not agree with this argument since it can cause several potential issues, although the government can spend money on other important fields. If students are supposed to pay the tuition fees themselves, the gap between the rich and the poor can get increasingly extended. It is because the high cost of pursuing a degree discourages some people from receiving an education in advanced professional techniques which often plays a vital part in finding employment with a high salary, especially for those who are in poor condition. This can lead to a situation where the educational resources turn to the side of the children of rich people, which would enlarge the paradox between the two parties. In addition, charging college students can create a stressful atmosphere in their daily lives and result in bad academic outcomes. Many of the students may be unable to rest enough or hang out with friends as usual since they have to cut down the budget on entertainment after committing a tuition payment. Losing opportunities to play will then possibly minimise their motivation to study and satisfaction with life on campus. And it is unlikely that the examiners would obtain good grades with negative feelings. On the other hand, it is reasonable to use the funding saved from covering the tuition fees for college students in fixing other social issues of high priority. For instance, the problem of recycling waste has become sharply severe as the population kept rising. More investment from the government can to some extent relieve the impact of social problems like this. To sum up, it is fair for the government to cast a glance at other social issues, while it is of high risk to put college students on the spot where they have to pay the tuition on their own.