Our cities are noisier than ever before. Why is this so, and what can be done about it?

Our cities are noisier than ever before. Why is this so, and what can be done about it? Heavily urbanized regions are said to suffer from noise pollution more than at any other time in the history of mankind. Although there are specific root causes behind this environmental concern, effective policies can be adopted to remedy the situation. There are two main reasons why cities tend to be noisy these days. Firstly, there is more population density in such areas. In other words, a growing number of people are attracted to urban areas where life is facilitated by countless amenities. As a direct result, cities become vibrant places teeming with people whose daily activities contribute to this modern life problem. A good illustration of such activities is daily commutes; car horns and engine noises are known to be major sources of this pollution. Secondly, since cities keep burgeoning, there are numerous construction projects going on. More specifically, all the pounding and banging noises produced by construction workers aggravate the situation. There are, however, some workable solutions to help city dwellers cope with this new phenomenon. One step would be improving insulation in newly built apartments, particularly the ones that are located in close proximity to congested highways. For instance, property developers should make sure that all windows are double-glazed so that no external sound can permeate through the glass. Another viable alternative is to raise people’s awareness about the gravity of this matter and strongly advise them to lead quieter and more peaceful lifestyles. This could directly affect the TV volume in households, leading to a more relaxing atmosphere. To conclude, cities are afflicted by noise pollution because of many reasons, the most important of which is overpopulation. In spite of all the contributing factors, proper insulation implemented by the construction industry can reduce the severity of this issue considerably.