Nowadays, people are consuming more and more sugarbased drinks. Why do they do so? Suggest measures to solve the problem

One cannot deny the fact that sweet soda-based drinks have seen a massive surge in demand in recent times despite their negative health impact. Many people outline this practice due to the increased stress, and sugar cravings, among others. In this essay, I would like to substantiate my claims on the reasons to tackle this larger issue at once with relevant examples. To start with, the government should actively involve in creating awareness among the public on the repercussions caused due to the influx of sugar intake found in cool drinks. This is because the involvement of a larger body might create panic waves among the public, especially the parents. For instance, similar practices undergone by several countries across the globe on tobacco intake had impressive outcomes lately. As a result, a clearly defined awareness program, especially from a government body, can create a butterfly effect that can eventually reduce overall consumption. In addition to it, NGOs, UNs or other similar bodies can take the help of global celebrities to campaign towards the negative effects caused by high consumption of those beverages. This is due to the fact that the major market share among the cool-drinks is adults between 20 and 30 years of age, who are huge fan followers of celebrities such as singers, actors or sports personalities. For example, a recent act by a well-renowned footballer taking a cola-based drink deliberately out at a press conference and replacing it with water, had eventually declined the shares of the company the following week, and helped the message reach youngsters across the globe. To conclude, celebrities do have massive followers, and that can be used as leverage to reduce the overall consumption of active campaigns. To summarise, drinks with artificial sweeteners are a common threat towards the health of current offspring and potential adults, that needs to be catered to by creating several awareness campaigns as stated above with the corresponding examples.