The popularity of news media often has significant influence on people’s lives. Some people believe this to be a negative development. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, a debate regarding the effect of news media on the population has emerged. In particular, some people argue that publishing nowadays has an exaggerated influence on others' lives and that this is negative. In my opinion, this point of view is true and the growing popularity of these forms of information poses a risk to society. In this essay, a brief explanation regarding the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly true that growing exposure to news can be positive for people. In fact, it could be said that modern-day society is the most informed one in history, spreading more and more awareness of many situations among the population. As a consequence, people now have much more knowledge of arguments that could impact their life. For instance, the recent inflation wave could be predicted, by people listening to these transmissions, before it happened. Given all this, it is not entirely inaccurate to affirm that the popularity of news media has been a positive development. On the other hand, the quality of this news should be considered while judging the phenomenon. Whereas the population is surely more informed, this information is often biased and inaccurate. As a result, it can be difficult to comprehend which source of knowledge is reliable and which is not. Furthermore, much of the news passed by these media are merely opinions used to push a specific political agenda, creating factions among the people. For all these reasons, the widespread diffusion of news media has impaired the critical capacity of people, who are more and more prone to totally rely on what they hear and fight each other over some minor argument. In conclusion, I think that this development is negative for society. As stated above, not only people are losing their capacity to elaborate critical information, but also less prone to hear different opinions. During the last years, these detrimental effects could be seen when people antagonized each other during the Trump administration. As a result, this phenomenon should be limited, before it has some serious consequences.