Nowadays, a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some people think it is negative for children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is one of the most powerful tools in modern marketing. Today, we are surrounded by companies who want to sell their products in order to earn higher profits. Many believe that promotional activities targeting children have negative implications, and should be banned. In this essay, I will elucidate that I completely agree with this assertion. To begin with, it is commonly observed that advertisements aiming youngsters are on the rise. Many companies in the food industry use famous cartoon characters in their proportional efforts to grab the attention of children. Moreover, with the use of modern technology and,graphics they make food products very attractive and irresistible. Since a child is not aware of the nutritional content and consequences of consuming processed food they cannot control their craving. As a result, the number of youngsters consuming fast food has increased significantly. Because of this, many pupils are suffering from health problems like obesity at a very young age. Advertisements are very influential and can make up buy things that we don’t require. Let's take an example of a Smartphone. It is observed that after watching ads children often demand new mobile phones from their parents. They feel that it will help them to say up-to-date in society. Many parents may not be financially well-off to fulfil these demands. But if they deny their child’s request, it hampers their relationship with the child. So, often out of no choice guardians fulfil their child’s demand. This money could have been utilised to provide better education facilities to youngsters. To conclude, it is undeniable that, promotional activities aimed at children are detrimental and measures should be taken to control the same.