People are living in a “throw-away society”, using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

Nowadays, it is commonly seen that people are using items for a short duration of time and throwing them away. This trend is not only causing harm to the environment but also to people at large. This essay will elucidate various causes and effects in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, in contemporary times, youngsters prefer to keep themselves up with the trend. Due to this behaviour, they end up buying items that they do not need, thereby resulting in a lot of waste. Moreover, these days manufacturers are producing items using cheaper raw materials so that they can sell at affordable and competitive prices. As a result, the quality and durability of the end product are compromised. For example, China is the biggest exporter of India because the cost of their products is low so the masses can easily afford them. However, the lifespan of these products is less, so this creates a lot of waste. This use-and-throw behaviour creates a lot of waste which ends up in landfills. Most of these items cannot be recycled and are dumped in landfills for hundreds of years. This affects biodiversity as the animals feeding on such sites get infected. Additionally, some of these wastes are burnt in open. This causes air pollution as harmful gases are released out of such wastes. Certainly, this trend leads to a disastrous impact on humans, animals as well as environment. Certainly, we are living in a “throw-away society” that hampers the ecosystem. Hence we must consciously take measures to purchase durable or recyclable items to save the degradation of lives and mother earth.