Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough and other measures are needed. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the excessive increase in the number of smokers has sparked many debates, while some people argue that we should make smoking illegal in public places, others argue this is not enough and more measures are needed. What are these measures? This essay will discuss both views and argue in favour of the latter. At the outset, it goes without saying that smoking is one of the worst habits subjected to anyone because it is not only harmful to himself but also affects people's surroundings; accordingly, lighting cigarettes must be prohibited in all public areas. Whereas applying this law may reduce the number of cigarettes but not the smokers themselves; consequently; other laws must be formed. For example, if someone used to smoke 10 times per day, he could smoke less to avoid fines but still smokes and harm himself. In sharp contrast, another team assume that we need more measures to apply restrictions on this habit. For instance, we could apply higher taxes or make it illegal in private and open areas, in addition to that, specific spots should be selected for smokers. For example, in Singapore, you can smoke only in defined places which are not available anywhere. this type of constraint will discourage smoking generally and lead to reducing it. To conclude, due to the aforementioned reasons, we may safely conclude that making smoking illegal in public places will not be enough to discourage this action but adding more restrictions could be useful to avoid harmful results from it.