TASK 2: Young people are now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends. What is your opinion? Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate whether at present it takes the young more time and more money to pursue fashionable trends. This phenomenon has both pros and cons; however, its advantage may outweigh its disadvantage. In my opinion, young people should not waste much time and money on pursuing hot trends. With a shadow of a doubt, catching up with the niche fashionable trends brings a number of upsides. Nowadays, youths purchase a great volume of fashion items in order to boost their self-confidence and leave a decent impression on others. Moreover, a good-looking appearance can bring them a great many merits in personal life and their career. For example, modeling is one of the jobs having a high requirement to upgrade a great deal of newly fashionable trends. Additionally, if the modelings want to be booked by prestigious branches, they must have the best impressions of the brands. Hence, it is necessary for young people to spend more time and money to run famous trends While the redeeming features of spending more time and more money are widely acknowledged, its counterpart still lingers. Instead of investing in studying or working, youths waste a lot of time and money to research the latest trend and buy fashionable categories beyond their budget, followed by trying to become fashionistas and celebrities. For example, given that Dior launches a prohibitive new collection to prove the class of successful people, youths buy the Dior Lady being worth 200 dollars to catch up with the trend. That becomes a tremendous financial burden for their family. Therefore, the more time and money wasted in pursuing the fashionable trends brings a number of disadvantages for younger people. To sum up, although the upsides of catching up with fashionable trends helps the young become more confident, the downsides of keeping up with them makes them become a burden to their family. In my opinion, spending a great amount of time and money is not essential for youths.