Many people think that cooking is an important skill in life and should be taught at school. Others disagree and think it is a waste of school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

May I ask if you can cook? When and where did you learn how to cook? Do you think it is the school's duty to teach you to cook meals? There are heated discussions about these topics. Some people believe cooking is an essential skill in life, and it should be taught at school, while others do not. From my perspective, I agree that cooking is important, but the ideal place to learn this ability is home. There are some reasons why I think it is not the school's duty to teach students to cook. Firstly, school is the place where students learn knowledge. Children get to know more about society, the world, and themselves in school. They acquire discipline, logical thinking, and other merits, leading them to make their own life. As a result of this, cooking is not important compared with those quantities. Secondly, cooking is complex. People have a wide range of tastes; thus, it is a huge challenge for school to prepare all the ingredients. By the way, it is more reasonable and convenient for parents to teach their children how to cook. However, many advantages can be found if the school teaches children how to cook meals. The most important factor is that if children could prepare food themselves, then it would be a great merit when they do not live with parents anymore. For example, when young people graduate from university and begin to rent a house, if he/she can cook, then it is easy to save money and also good for health. In conclusion, I believe cooking is a vital skill in life and it should be taught at home by parents instead of learned in school. Children should concentrate on academic performance more.