Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough and other measures are needed. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society,the issue related to smoking has attracted public attention.Some experts believe that smoking could be discouraged by the provision of legal regulations banning smoking in public areas, while others oppose that implementation of rules alone will not be adequate for mitigation.I completely agree with the latter perspective and both views of this controversy will be discussed in the following paragraph. On one hand, reinforcing rules to prohibit smoking in public areas will have a great impact on reducing its consumption. In other words, when there is a fine or a punishment which is well established and observed, people tend to be more cautious of doing that. For example, In Dubai, smoking is considered illegal and there has been a remarkable drop in selling cigarettes according to Forbes magazine in 2022.In short, fear of punishment which is a basic reflex of the nature of the human has been taken into account by these experts as a measure to control smoking. On the other hand, others argue legislative efforts alone will not make it successful as craving is an undeniable fact that drives the mind of people. Smoking is addictive and once people get used to having the pleasure of smoking with regard to managing their anxiety or stress, it is impossible to break that chain. Besides, prohibition will enhance their craving and tend to continue the practice in secret. In addition to law reinforcement, there should be other ways of educating them regarding health hazards they may encounter because of this habit. Thus, people ought to have easy access to rehabilitation programmes, with proper guidance and supervision. For example, a rehabilitation programme on smoking has attracted many smokers in Srilanka and it has clearly shown that many people get rid of addiction through this. Overall, it is extremely effective to target the mind in a feasible way to disrupt addiction. In conclusion, I assume, prohibiting smoking in public places is not going to be the best perspective as suggested by some as it requires additional methods like a rehabilitation process to address the craving for cigarettes which is a crucial matter.