Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough and other measures are needed. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that prohibiting smoking in public places is the best approach to deter people from smoking. However, others believe this approach is not adequate and requires other effective measures in order to discourage smoking. In my opinion, just banning smoking in public places is not enough, and desperately needs other methods. On the one hand, if smoking is restricted to certain areas only, it will reduce the influence on non-smokers. In other words, young people tend to imitate what they saw, if they are not exposed to smoking, it will definitely decline the chances for youngsters to try it. Consequently, announcing smoking is unlawful in public places is an efficient way to tackle this issue. For instance, according to a survey smokers have declined drastically in China since 2020 after banning it at railway and bus stations. On the other hand, people tend to not follow legal guidelines and thus strict punishment and fines are compulsory to discourage individuals to smoke even at home because parents play a paramount role in the upbringing of a child. Moreover, if people are not aware of its hazardous health problems, they will continue it. Therefore it is the government's responsibility to enlighten people about its deadly effects by running awareness campus and advertisements on social media via the internet. For example, if a father is habitual of smoking at home, there are 90% chance that his son will also try to smoke as he is exposed to it at an early stage of life. That's why the restriction only at public places is not enough to eradicate this problem from the roots. In my opinion, making it illegal in general public areas is not a sufficient phenomenon as children can be encouraged unknowingly by their parents. Due to this, it should also be banned from their homes as well by implementing strict laws and imposing fines. To conclude, undoubtedly banning smoking in public places is a good approach to discouraging smokers to smoke. Nevertheless, I believe that heavy fines, strict laws and creating awareness among people are the most viable approaches to tackle this problem.