We can access information from the internet easily. Some people say that libraries are no longer necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, acquiring knowledge via the internet has become convenient. Some would, therefore, argue that the need for a library is obsolete in the digital era. However, I completely disagree with this belief and opine that libraries are still a vital part of society. This essay will explain my perspective further in detail. The easy availability of wi-fi and various network services has provided an opportunity of learning anything at your fingertips. Also, most workplaces, education and other sectors today mandate the use of computers for more efficiency. For example, schools today utilize PowerPoint presentations and video lectures to teach. As learning through books is boring and time-consuming compared to audio-visuals provided on digital platforms. Thus, the use of books has become the bare minimum with the advancement in modern learning techniques. On the other hand, there are various topics that are still unavailable on websites. The old periodicals, magazines, journals and some important research works are available only in hard copy and are difficult to find on screen. What's more, most information displayed on the net is in the English language and if there is a need for work in the vernacular language, one has to find it in a nearby library. Additionally, libraries also provide a quiet place to read with concentration which is helpful in understanding in depth. On contrary, the information available on the internet is superficial in most cases and baseless. In conclusion, although a plethora of knowledge is present on the web, it does not supersede the need for a good library. In my opinion, they still do play an important role in providing resources to the community.