some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation of committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Punishments for all kinds of crimes are very useful as social control in society. People have different arguments there should be fixed punishments for any crime while others are against those rules. I believe fixed punishments should be standard to make life more orderly. On the one hand, specific punishments can be helpful for avoiding every single crime. In that case, everyone will consider not doing any crimes because they know that every crime has certain punishments. For example, when an individual robs some money they will be sure to get a stiff punishment, although they do that for good action. In my opinion, the rule for that action can be very useful to decrease the number of crimes and make a safer society. On the other hand, taking consideration for some crimes can ensure justice and equality. Sometimes people have a specific reason why they commit that crimes, not only because of their desire but also because of coercive circumstances. A person who does not have money to take medicine for their loved ones can do everything to get those things even willing to steal money. But, whatever the reason of the crimes it can not be accepted because that can give a chance to others to do the same thing and the number of crimes can also increase. In conclusion, I can understand why some people think that circumstances and motivations of individual crimes have to be considered on taking punishments. But, I believe every crime has to have standard punishments to avoid other crimes in the future.