Many countries believe that international tourism has harmful effects. Why do they think so? What can be done to change their views?

In this day and age, taking a vacation in other countries has become a social norm, and people travel abroad to visit exotic places all around the world. Having said that, in many nations, local communities argue that international tourists can cause serious detrimental impacts on their lives. From my point of view, certain reasons lead to this case, as well as some solutions to change this negative view. To begin with, the reason that leads to the belief that international travellers pose harmful effects is some foreigners have disrespected the local culture, especially toward sacred places such as temples and pagodas. This is because a number of these foreign visitors come from another religion, and do not have enough knowledge about the orthodoxy of the visited country, thus can behave inappropriately toward sacred religious figures and temples. For example, there was a video that went viral in January 2023, in which a woman was dancing on top of an Inca pyramid, which was a holy place to hold important ceremonies in the tradition of the Inca people. Needless to say, this action causes outrage among both the indigenous and other tourists, and the woman has been escorted to safety under waves of criticism. So, in many countries, communities are deterred from letting foreign tourists visit their hometowns. In order to change this mindset of those who oppose global travel, several methods could be utilized. First of all, we should acknowledge that encountering citizens from every corner of the world is a chance to learn more about different lifestyles. Taking food culture as an example, when travelling to an Asia country, Western travellers can sample the exquisite yet distinct cuisines of Asia. Moreover, the authority could promote a friendly attitude toward foreigners by showing the positive sides of global travel. For instance, the government could publicize videos that show foreigners helping the domestics with their errands and participating in daily activities. As a result of this campaign, locals could be more welcome and reduce unnecessary conflicts with oversea travellers. To conclude, some domestic citizens are concerned about international excursions as there are some possible conflicts that come from the lack of mutual respect and understanding. Nevertheless, this problem can be addressed by learning and gaining knowledge about other civilizations, thus making this world warmer and more friendly.