Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Universities are fundamental sources of specialized knowledge. While numerous curious students want to explore various fields to enrich their intellects, others argue that solely focusing on major subjects for qualification is more vital. While each has its own reasons, I believe the ideal approach is a balance of both. On the one hand, studying various types of subjects brings certain advantages. Interconnected courses can improve and complete each other. As an example, physics students may actually benefit from advanced mathematical programs that help them understand high-level formulas. Besides, a number of advanced jobs such as business analysts actually require insights on both economy and data science subjects. In addition, classes in utility skills are useful not only in college but also in daily life. Specifically, public speaking and teamwork courses will become essential in the majority of working environments. Exploring new subjects is also a great opportunity to uncover new passions and completely change one’s future career. On the other hand, the strength of commitment for major subjects is obvious. Every human has his own physical and mental capabilities. Distributing efforts between too many domains results in less time for each field. After all, the primary purpose of a university is to prepare the necessary skills and experiences for undergraduates in their respective professions. A computer science student, for example, does not deserve a qualification if they don’t know how to code and design programs. No matter how many subjects students want to try, they must ensure enough resources are spent on principal courses to satisfy the qualification requirements. In conclusion, studying is a continuous and challenging process that requires both great effort and a clear direction. There is no restriction to how disciplines broaden their minds, but each individual must understand their objectives and devise the most appropriate learning strategies.