In many cities, an increasing number of people do not know their neighbours and there is no sense of community anymore. What do you think are the causes of this lack of sense of community? Suggest measures that might deal with this situation.

While urban societies have allowed people to enjoy a more convenient and comfortable way of life, they have also caused many individuals today to isolate themselves from their neighbors. A number of reasons can be attributed to this tendency among city dwellers. Nevertheless, this situation can be addressed effectively if certain proactive steps are taken by the government and the urban population. In my opinion, people who have chosen to live in cities tend not to know their neighbors because the lifestyle in metropolitan communities is often frantic-paced and isolating. People tend to take comfort from their immediate families or flatmates rather than the more traditional neighborhood networks one might find in rural areas. Moreover, as cities become more crowded, people are forced to live in high-rise apartments where it is more difficult to meet and associate with neighbors. The normal opportunities to mingle in common areas or be introduced to others through family networks are denied most in these places. To make matters worse, individuals often find it difficult to trust strangers in the masses of unknown people they confront because cities can promote selfish attitudes and odd agendas. Today, the old adage to not trust strangers appears even more valid in the midst of unfamiliar people. However, this lack of sense of community may be addressed by personal effort and by the creation of spaces and areas that encourage the development of community interaction and relationship building. Individuals can make an effort to engage with their neighbors by means of open communication, and the associations which run high-rise condominiums can host certain events appropriate to the different age groups of the residents. In addition to individual and concerted efforts to encourage a sense of belonging to a community, local governments, which benefit from taxes levied on housing units, should build and operate leisure parks and recreational centers while promoting their use by the local population. Interactions at these public places promote a feeling of inclusion and belongingness, thereby promoting community spirit and establishing bonds and relationships among individuals. Therefore, the isolation often experienced in cities can be dealt with. All that is required is a reframing of the idea of community and goodwill in doing this.