How should we ensure that television is the positive influence in the life of children?

The question of the impact of television on children's life has always been debatable in modern society. Nowadays there are plenty of programs for kids of different ages, however, the majority of parents are trying to restrict access for many of them. As can be expected, the influence of television on people, especially children depends on the time they watch television and which programs they select. To begin with, there exist a variety of educational channels with diverse content aimed at the development of miscellaneous skills. The most popular of such channels are school subject programs, which provide a revision of the information learned at school with colourful animated presentations demonstrated in a playful way. Another type is geographic shows, which enable youngsters to learn about the cultural heritage, capitals and nature of various countries. The most eminent and vivid example of this kind of channel is National Geographic. Furthermore, not only the quality of the received content may be beneficial for children but also a family watching has a list of advantages. Spending time together with relatives is propitious for maintaining congenial communication and connection within the family. There is a profusion of cartoons, which evolve positive qualities of a person, for instance, generosity and kindness and, moreover, which will be attractive to all family members. In conclusion, from the arguments and examples given television might have a positive influence on youngsters' lives with the correct selection of channels and watching time control. In addition, it can be advantageous for the establishment of a connection within the family.