The majority of news being reported is bad news. Why do you think this is? Should bad news be banned?

There has been a trend where the frequency of bad announcements being broadcasted outweighs the good message. In my point of view, I reckon that this is because such a broadcast serves as a warning to other persons who might have planned to either carry out a similar activity or plan to be in a particular location. Consequently, it helps humans to make plans to avoid any danger they foresee. Similarly, this sort of message also helps to arrange our activities for the day. Given the level of importance attached to having this knowledge, they should not be banned. Nowadays, there has been a drastic increase in theft, earthquakes, and kidnapping. When such a story is broadcasted, viewers have an idea of locations that are prone to these insecurities. In a way, this news can be termed a security alert. For instance, Jamie Foxx recently shared his experience when he was a victim of an attempted kidnap. Moreover, he explained that he had seen a broadcast from ABC news about a serial kidnapper and the moment he sighted the predator, he put his guard up and was able to take the necessary actions to escape being kidnapped. Furthermore, when the message about accidents is released, they give information on roadblocks that may lead to traffic congestion, thereby leading people to ply other routes. This saves people some time as well as resources. To conclude, broadcasting bad news should not be prohibited because they help to keep us alert on dangers around us and they also help to keep us up to date while planning our day-to-day activities.