The government should sometimes infringe on people’s freedom for the security of society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that individuals’ freedom has to be regulated by the government if it is inevitable. Although some people are worried about the invasion of freedom, I firmly believe that freedom could be intervened by the government for several reasons. To begin with, individuals have the right to live safely as well as freely. As they are eager to behave in their own ways, there are possibilities that they could hurt others or deprive their freedom. For example, because everyone is not able to afford designer bags, someone who cannot buy them is willing to steal them. Even though the person has his or her right to do whatever they want, it should be prohibited by the government in order to protect others’ property. On top of that, the government should keep society stable. While it is quite concerning that a few countries discourage their citizens’ freedom for this reason, society’s order needs to be followed under the government ’s control at some point. For instance, drivers are often tempted to drive after drinking. If we regard people’s freedom as the top priority, we have to let them drive under influence. However, unlikely this perspective, the government ought to restrict them for others’ safety and traffic rules. In conclusion, despite the belief that people’s freedom cannot be restricted by the government, it could be controlled for the safety and security of society when it is needed. For those reasons, it seems clear that the government should sometimes regulate individuals’ freedom for a stable and sound society.