Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Throughout the years, there has been an increase in the number of crime figures. There are numerous contributing factors regarding the increased criminal activities such as poverty, narcotics and so many others which are still considered elusive. However, in my opinion, these problems could be mitigated, if the governors focus more on the prevention by improving employment opportunities, impose heavy fines and altering the conventional laws. One of the main reasons behind criminality is poverty. In other words, if the government fails to control inflation or maintain adequate jobs for its citizens, there would be an increase in unemployment and a widened gap between rich and poor. This means that people may become more inclined to commit petty crimes such as pickpocketing or property crimes. In addition, children of these families would struggle with poverty that could push them to fall in with wrong crowds and become delinquent. Some of them would become engaged with drug-related crimes and have criminal records early on which could have a huge negative impact on their lives. On the other hand, atrocious disturbing violent acts are mostly due to underlaying mental illnesses which can be triggered by improper social environment. For instance, Jeffery Dahmer, a serial killer diagnosed with psychotic disorder, was raised in a broken family experiencing various abuses which paved the way for his ultimate troubling actions. Multiple solutions can be recommended for tacking this issue depending on the nature of the crime itself. From my point of view, criminals who perpetrate crimes such as violent assaults and homicides have some kind of conscious vicious intention which can be defined as antisocial or psychopath. For these, maybe a psychologist administrative in educational system could facilitate the diagnosis which eventually would result in prevention of these kind of crimes. However, majority of non-violent and petty crimes can be prevented by improving the financial status of the citizens. This can happen by creating career possibilities or keeping the inflation rate low. Other suggestions could include imposing substantial fines or passing laws regarding promoting community services instead of custodial penalty for minor offences. In conclusion, there are multiple reasons behind criminal acts ranging from intrapersonal problems such as underlying mental health issues to disparities in financial levels or use of narcotics, however, governors can prevent these by establishing holistic strategic Plans including maintaining a stable economic status, improving employment opportunities, enhancing educational curriculums and promoting alternative ways of punishment such as community services.