Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Children now spend a greater deal of time glued to social media, the Internet and video games than ever before. While excessive phone use among minors has resulted from social changes and parental inadequacy, I believe that its impact on a child’s development is predominantly negative. There are sound reasons why children are addicted to mobile phones. One obvious factor is linked to the latest changes in people’s lifestyles. As electronic devices, particularly cell phones, have deeply integrated into youth culture in recent times, children who are not actively involved in social media groups are usually considered introverted and isolated. In order to maintain healthy relationships and blend in with so-called modernisation, children devote a significant amount of time to such social media platforms as Facebook and Telegram, as a result of which it is deemed normal to grow attached to mobile phones. Even more importantly, this is happening in the absence of parental supervision. Rather than allocating quality time to their children, parents today tend to prioritise their professional objectives over childcare responsibilities. This, in turn, hinders them from helping their offspring overcome the addictive nature of cell phones. If teenagers had better social environments and healthy relationships with their parents, they would not develop phone addictions. I personally adopt a negative attitude towards this development. As children spend long hours surfing the internet, scrolling through social networks, and playing video games indoors, they lead increasingly sedentary lifestyles, resulting in a lack of physical activity. Consequently, they might gain extra weight and become susceptible to such health issues as obesity and cardiovascular diseases from a young age. As far as mental health is concerned, using cell phones regularly can abbreviate children ’s attention spans and reduce their ability to grasp knowledge, which is necessary to study academic subjects like chemistry and physics. Thus, the overuse of cell phones can put a child’s physical and psychological health in jeopardy. In conclusion, excessive phone usage among minors is a consequence of modernity and parental irresponsibility, and it harms a child’s physical and mental development alike. The longer people continue to overlook the pernicious effects of device use for children, the wider range of childhood diseases and problems may ensue.