Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, being self-employed has been chosen by a great number of people more than being hired in an office or organization. In this essay I will discuss the reasons for being self-employed and their disadvantages. On the one hand, being self-employed has a good influence on our quality of life. A person who is self-employed has a flexible schedule with good time management. A person has more possibilities to decide a working hour which is more comfortable to complete the task. People spend more time with themselves and their family, even if they have more time to continue their studies. For example, Peter arranged five working hours every day. He studies yoga with his daughter when he finishes his work. It provides more family time and relaxation moments for Peter. Thus, being self-employed could enhance people’s work-life balance. On the other hand, a disadvantage of being self-employed is that it might bring financial instability. Self-employed individuals have a chance of having a low income. When they have no job in a month, then they will have no income. For instance, a driver who drives a taxi may not earn money if they do not go to work due to illness. But people who work in a company still have an employer to pay their salary as they have medical leave. Thus, self-employed is without financial assurance. In conclusion, being self-employed has more flexibility in their time management to improve their life. It promotes work-life balance. However, it has no protection on their financial income.